Please stop by to congratulate this year’s winners of TOS awards!

TOPS Research Achievement Award
The TOPS Research Achievement Award is for singular achievement or contribution to research in the field of obesity and made possible through an annual grant from the Take Off Pounds Sensibly (TOPS) Foundation.

Dympna Gallagher, EdD, FTOS Professor
Columbia University

The George L. Blackburn Award for Excellence in Obesity Medicine
The George L. Blackburn Award for Excellence in Obesity Medicine is made possible by funding from the Center for Nutritional Research Charitable Trust (CNRCT) to honor George L. Blackburn, MD, PhD, whose career spanned nutrition, metabolism, and obesity.

Donna Ryan, MD, FTOS Professor Emerita Pennington Biomedical Research Center

Friends of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award
The Friends of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award is designed to recognize an individual who has made a commitment to the field of obesity in terms of scholarship, mentorship, and education.

Mary Story, PhD
Professor Duke University

George A. Bray Founders Award
The George A. Bray Founders Award recognizes an individual for active involvement with The Obesity Society (TOS) and whose contributions advanced the scientific or clinical basis for the understanding or treatment of obesity.

Michael Jensen, MD, FTOS
Professor Mayo Clinic

Atkinson Stern Award for Distinguished Public Service
This award was established by a donation from Dr. Thomas A. Wadden to recognize an individual or organization whose work has improved the lives of those affected by obesity, whether through research, public policy, or patient care.

Gary Foster, PhD, FTOS Chief Scientific Officer WW International, Inc.

Thomas A. Wadden Award for Distinguished Mentorship
Created in 2015, the award honors a TOS member for distinguished mentorship of the Society’s early career investigators. The award is named for Professor Thomas A. Wadden, PhD, who mentored many individuals who went on to pursue successful careers in obesity research and clinical care.

Jack Yanovski, MD, PhD, FTOS Chief, Section on Growth and Obesity National Institutes of Health

George A. Bray Master’s Thesis Award
This award recognizes one student for their master’s thesis. The thesis is evaluated by the overall relevance and potential impact on the field of obesity with an emphasis on scientific methodology and approach.

Cara Ruggiero, MS
Pennsylvania State University

George A. Bray Doctoral Dissertation Award
This award recognizes one student for their doctoral dissertation, which is judged on the significance, scope, innovation, and scientific methodology in the field of obesity.

Anna Kahkoska, PhD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Ethan Sims Young Investigator Award
The Ethan Sims Young Investigator Award recognizes excellence in research by young investigators based on their submitted abstracts and presentations during ObesityWeek®. This year’s finalists are:

Belen Perez-Pevida, ANP
Imperial College of London

Elizabeth Adams, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University

Amber Alhadeff, PhD University of Pennsylvania

Rizaldy Zapata, DVM, PhD
University of California, San Diego

Pasquale Rummo, PhD
New York University

The Rolls-Simons Travel Award
This award was initially established by TOS Past President Barbara Rolls in honor of her mother Pat Simons and is a continuing part of The Obesity Society’s commitment to young investigators in the field of obesity research. This year’s awardees are:

John Griffin, PhD
Tufts University

Thomas Cassimatis
National Institutes of Health

Emily Noble, PhD University of Georgia

Nicole Gilbertson, PhD
University of Virginia

Alexandre Caron, PhD
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Matthew Landry, PhD
University of Texas at Austin

Kelli Lytle, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Abdul-Latif Armiyaw, BA
National Institutes of Health

Early Career Travel Award
This award is funded by TOS to support the efforts of early career investigators that contribute to the field of obesity.

Ishita Jindal, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

Ying Meng, PhD
University of Rochester

WW Student Travel Award
This award is sponsored by WW (formerly Weight Watchers) and based on submitted abstracts to this year’s ObesityWeek® recognizes student excellence with an emphasis on behavioral research.

Caleigh Sawicki, MS Tufts University

Aseel El Zein, MS University of Florida

Tujan Irshied, PharmD/RPh The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Genevieve Davison, MS Washington University in St. Louis

Jami Anderson, MSc University of Alabama at Birmingham

Lindsey Parnarouskis, MS University of Michigan

Oded Bar-Or Award
The Bar-Or Award was founded in 2007 by TOS’s Pediatric Obesity Section to recognize significant contributions to basic and applied pediatric obesity research that have resulted in major advances in scientific understanding of etiology, prevention, and treatment.

Jennifer Orlet Fisher, PhD
Professor Temple University

Master of the American Board of Obesity Medicine Award
This award is presented by The American Board of Obesity Medicine and recognizes physicians that have made significant contributions to the science, practice and/or advancement of obesity medicine.

Arya M. Sharma, MD, DSc (hon), FRCPC, FTOS Professor of Medicine University of Alberta

FosterSchauer Award
An ObesityWeek® Award, The Obesity Society and the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery each year present this award to non-US, early career investigator or student who present at this year’s annual meeting.

The Obesity Society recipient: Anna Kamocka, M.Ed.SE
Imperial College London